10th National Women’s Congress achieves great success

After three days’ sitting, the 10th National Women’s Congress accomplished the entire working programme.

Present at the closing ceremony were State Vice President Nguyen Thi Doan, former State Vice President Truong My Hoa, Head of the CPV Committee for Mass Mobilisation Ha Thi Khiet, President of the Vietnam Fatherland Front (VFF) Pham The Duyet and representatives from centrally-run ministries and sectors throughout the country.

At the congress, Nguyen Thi Thanh Hoa, member of the Communist Party of Vietnam (CPV) Central Committee, Vice Chairwoman of the 9th Vietnam Women’s Union (VWU) was elected as VWU Chairwoman. Four other vice chairwomen include Dang Thi Ngoc Thinh, Nguyen Thi Kim Thuy, Hoang Ai Nhien and H’ Ngam Nie Kdam.

The congress elected 25 deputies to the Presidium of the 10th VWU and 154 deputies to the 10th VWU Standing Committee and adopted resolutions and targets for the 2007-2012 term with an overwhelming vote in favour.

Speaking at the congress, newly-elected VWU Chairwoman Nguyen Thi Thanh Hoa expressed her belief that under the clear-sighted leadership of the Party and State and with support from international friends, the resolutions adopted at the 10th National Women’s Congress will be brought to life to promote women’s important role as well as their positive contributions to the process of international integration and national development.

On this occasion, deputies donated more than VND70 million to the victims of the Can Tho bridge disaster.